top of page

Celebrating Slavery

So today I was spending some time with God, and I was reminded of some of the concepts I have learned this week concerning slavery in the Bible. I already had some knowledge of the differences between what it meant then and now, but I wanted to have a better understanding of it. It was actually quite significantly different than what we are familiar with today. It was not only a widespread cultural norm, but it was the basis for the economies of many nations. It was not based on color or nationality, and the Bible spoke against slave trading as a capital offence:

“Anyone who kidnaps someone is to be put to death, whether the victim has been sold or is still in the kidnapper’s possession.” Exodus 21:16

And,

“We also know that the law is made ..for the ungodly and sinful, the unholy and irreligious, for those who kill their fathers or mothers, .. slave traders and liars and perjurers..” 1 Timothy 1:9-10

Many chose the life of a servant/slave out of an inability to provide for themselves. Instead of starving on the streets, they would be protected, provided and cared for. The law that God gave the Israelites instructed masters to treat their servants and slaves well, to care for them and allow them Sabbath rest. They were to treat them with respect and be responsible for their well-being. Slaves in return were to be loyal to their masters and serve them to the best of their ability. Many slaves were better off than those who were free but had little means to provide for themselves. Rather than being homeless on the streets, they would have all their needs met and taken care of.

What struck me when I was praying today, was a greater understanding of how Paul could, with joy and pride, declare himself as a “slave of Christ”(Romans 1:1). He declares that those who were slaves are free in the Lord, and those who are free are slaves of Christ(1 Corinthians 7:22). In a strange way, we are both slaves and free at the same time. If we consider this with our contemporary, (and unbiblical), perspective of slavery in mind, we will not be able to grasp how this is possible, let alone desirable. However, I what I realized today is that there is a deep and reassuring truth within this concept.

Just as the slaves of the Bible times were poor, helpless and broken, unable to care for themselves—so am I. I can't meet my own needs. I can't solve my own problems. On my own, I am hopeless, lost and without purpose. I am pathetically fragile and desperately needy. But in Christ, I have the security of serving a Master who is never cruel, never harsh and never unloving. He cares for me as if I were His own child, and in Him, all my needs are satisfied. He is my Provider, my Protector and my Defender. In Him I have an identity, a purpose and a place to belong. I never have to fear because I am not simply one woman standing on her own in the world, but I serve under my King, with His Lordship covering me. I can trust in His wisdom, and surrender to His guidance and direction, because He is good and will always do what is right. My Master brings me joy, because I am His, and He will never let harm come to me. I can have peace knowing that all my concerns, burdens and fears can be passed on to and handled by Him. I can be lesser, because He is greater and yet He still looks upon me and loves me. He is aware of my weakness, but He calls out my strength, championing and encouraging me.

Being a slave to Christ and a servant of the Lord is far from a punishment, it is an invitation to the inexplicable comfort and security of belonging to Him and trusting in His guidance, provision and protection. This is true freedom: being forever free from loneliness, free from hopelessness, and free from fear.

From my heart to yours.. 
Follow Me
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Subscribe for Updates!

Congrats! You’re subscribed.. and you're awesome!

bottom of page