top of page

Beyond the Fog

Yes, it is another lyric inspired entry. I can't help it, I love music and the way I can connect to God through it. One of my favorite artists the past year or so has been Ellie Holcomb. You may have heard her songs on the radio, as her music has just recently become more widespread. I really enjoy the sincerity of her lyrics and the rawness of her passion for God. She truly pours hears heart into compositions as she shares the joys and challenges of trusting in the Lord.

The song of her title track is called As Sure As The Sun. On my recent personal retreat, I often listened to this album while waiting on the Lord. One morning, I was hoping to watch the sunrise on the lake, only to discover a heavy fog had settled outside overnight. I knew that I would likely not see the sun that day, nor the stars that night. I was okay with that, though, for I thought the fog was rather enchanting.

During my prayer time, the song As Sure As The Sun came on in the background, and I remember thinking, “Yeah, the sun will rise, but not today.” I had become discouraged, because after a day of prayer and waiting, the Lord still seemed silent and distant. I wondered at the fog, whether it was symbolic of my spiritual situation and that perhaps one day the fog would lift so I truly could see the sun.

As the lyrics played, I sang along in a declaration of faith and hope, that this would truly be the case:

As sure as the sun will rise

And chase away the night

His mercy will not end

His mercy will not end

The song's lyrics are clearly inspired by Lamentations 3:22-23:

“The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;

His mercies never come to an end;

They are new every morning;

Great is Your faithfulness.”(ESV)

20150115_083209.jpg

It was a week after the retreat, when again I found myself singing this song, that a new perspective dawned on me. As sure as the sun rises is not a dependant condition, but the sun will surely rise each and every day. Yes, those days last week there may have been fog, but the morning still chased away the night. I couldn't see the sun, but I knew it was there because the world was no longer cloaked in impenetrable darkness. The night before, I couldn't see past the reach of my porch light, but that day I could see through the field to the trees. Even though the sun was obstructed, I still had enough light to walk.

In the same way, God's nearness and presence is not diminished when situations cause Him to seem distant. Even when I can't necessarily feel Him, He is still there and He has not changed; His mercy and faithfulness will not end. He is the same, forever and always. Just as I can trust that the sun will rise, I can trust that He will be faithful. He will never leave me in darkness or forsake me in the night, but He will provide enough light for me to keep pressing on. I may not be able to see past the fog in the trees, but once I reach them, He will give me enough light to keep going the next few steps. Even on the foggiest days, I can trust that His hand will be there to guide me.

“If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me, and the light become night around me,”

even the darkness will not be dark to You; the night will shine like the day,

for darkness is as light to You” and “even there Your hand will guide me,

and Your right hand will hold me fast.”

Psalm 139:11-12,10

2015-01-15-09-05-31.jpg

Listen to Ellie Holcomb's "As Sure As The Sun"!


From my heart to yours.. 
Follow Me
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Subscribe for Updates!

Congrats! You’re subscribed.. and you're awesome!

bottom of page