top of page

The House on the Lake: A Story of Hope

I was out of town last week, spending time seeking and waiting on the Lord. Ignoring the “DANGER THIN ICE” signs, I decided to take a long walk on a lake. I figured if the ice could withstand all the snowmobile tracks I saw striped all over it, surely it could support me. I ended up being quite thankful for those tracks, as the snow was so deep aside of the tracks that it quickly rushed in the tops of my boots. I was carefully to avoid too many misteps, because although the weather was favorable, frozen wet socks tend to spoil things pretty quickly.

To be quite honest, the first half hour passed silently and somewhat barren of anything at all, save the sound of few hungry birds and the wind whistling past my uncovered ears. I did admire the way the dull grey branches of leafless trees looked set against the overcast sky and the setting sun. As I trekked through the crisp snow, I listened to the calls of the hawks circling the edges of the lake, but I longed to hear the voice of the Father speaking to my heart. My prayers and songs seemed to go unanswered, and I wondered how I could feel so alone surrounded by such an astounding view of God's creation. Well aware that the act of waiting on God does not demand His immediate answer, I pressed on regardless, determined to make the most of the opportunity, whether He saw fit to answer me then or not.

For some reason I felt inclined to continue until I reached the outline of a house in the distance, which sat upon a distinct curve of the shoreline. Perhaps it was just out of my desire to feel I had accomplished something, or maybe because I was certain that the opposite side of the lake was an unrealistic goal, in spite of its appeal. (The fact that those trees were indistinct specks in comparison to the ones I saw ahead of me seemed to indict that it may be a farther journey than I wished.)

I finally reached the spot on the lake in front of the house I had set my sights on, and stood for a moment to examine it. What I hadn't recognized from the distance was that the house was in construction. In fact, the owners appeared to be working on it as I stood there. (I secretly hoped their lab would venture out on the lake to greet me, though I understood when they called him back...) With a steep and graceful roofline, its frame stretched upward against the trees, fronted with great picturesque windows overlooking the lake and likely spacious vaulted ceilings residing behind them. It was easy to imagine the beauty and elegance it would possess once it was finished. The solid architecture of its frame would soon transform into a stunning home and a peaceful retreat, set with an impressive view of the nature surrounding it.

2015-01-15-09-47-46.jpg

I noticed that while the house I admired was currently in progress, it appeared that the original home still stood, slightly set back among the trees. It appeared to be remaining their residence until the new construction was completed. It was a decent home: a bungalow boasting a wide porch, wrapped in a faded mint green that had seen many summers. Though quite liveable, it could not compare to grandeur of the structure that was to come. Practical and well lived in, it remained functional while waiting for the completion of the new cabin. For the time being, the former building still held usefulness and purpose.

As I stood there in the middle of the lake, the situation struck me as a picture of our current state of expectation, the concept of “now” and “not yet”. I felt God's Words distinctly spoken, almost as if He has whispered the reminder in my ear, “Behold, I am making all things new!”(Revelation 21:5).

The two homes seemed to suddenly hold significant symbolism, testifying to a spiritual truth. As we live in these flawed bodies, we await our final redemption, the coming of Christ. On that day we will receive “the end of your faith, the salvation of your souls”(1 Peter 1:9). Though for a while we endure suffering and trials here, what is old and fading away will be replaced with what is lasting and eternal, trading our broken bodies for perfected, heavenly bodies. During the interim, God continues to work within us, sanctifying and purifying us. He never stops working, for He “does not grow weak or weary”(Is. 40:28 ESV), and “He who has begun in you a good work will complete it”(Phil. 1:6 DNT).

Immediately upon returning from my walk, I sat down to with my Bible and prayer journal to continue to listen for what God was wanting to teach me through this illustration. I considered that perhaps it was not merely my own stubborn will that pushed me to reach that landmark, but that God was nudging me there in order to see something, to spur me on and give me hope for the future. As I sat praying, numerous scriptures began to flood into my mind, and I began to search them out.

“And what [is sown] is not the body that is to be, but a bare kernel... But God gives it a body as He has chosen, and to each kind of seed its own body. For not all flesh is the same, but there is one kind for humans, another for animals, another for birds, and another for fish. There are heavenly bodies and earthly bodies, but the glory of the heavenly is of one kind, and the glory of the earthly is of another.”

“So is it with the resurrection of the dead. What is sown is perishable; what is raised is imperishable. It is sown in dishonor; it is raised in glory. It is sown in weakness; it is raised in power. It is sown a natural body; it is raised a spiritual body. If there is a natural body, there is also a spiritual body.” 1 Corinthians 15:37-40, 42-44 ESV

This first passage I read led me to consider our current state as being simply a bare kernel—sown perishable and birthed to die—in order that what is raised from the death of the natural seed would be spiritual, imperishable and eternal. What we see now is only a shadow of what is to come, and the glory of what is to come is something we can only imagine. What is sown is imperfect and dishonorable, but what is raised will be perfect, raised in power by the Almighty, our Redeemer.

“But when the perfect thing comes, then that which is in part will be caused to cease.”

“For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I shall fully know even as I also am fully known.” 1 Corinthians 13:10-11,12 MKJV

“For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus.” Ephesians 2:10 ESV

We are not there yet, but are being perfected by God our Savior through the saving work of His Son. And the salvation He is working in us is amazing, because it is He Himself who cleanses us, providing His own sanctification on for our sins, according to His Will and incredible grace and mercy. Our salvation is wholly by His work alone.

“For since the law has but a shadow of the good things to come... it can never, by the same sacrifices that are continually offered every year, make perfect those who draw near. Otherwise, would they not have ceased to be offered, since the worshipers, having once been cleansed, would no longer have any consciousness of sins? But in these sacrifices there is a reminder of sins every year. For it is impossible for the blood of bulls and goats to take away sins.”

“When [Christ said], “You have neither desired nor taken pleasure in sacrifices”.. He added, “Behold, I have come to do Your will.” He does away with the first in order to establish the second. And by that Will we have been sanctified through the offering of the body of Jesus Christ once for all.” Hebrews 10:1-3,8-10

“Since God had provided something better for us, that apart from us [those ancestors in the faith] should not be made perfect.” Hebrews 11:40 ESV

It is amazing to think that it was always the will of God that it would not be by our sacrifices, but by the blood of the Lamb, His sacrifice, that we would be cleansed and the curse of the law and sin removed. The sacrifices of the law were never to bring cleansing, but they only served as a reminder of the sins that constantly remained. The purpose was to emphasize humanities helplessness and hopelessness without God, following which God Himself removed that order, the old covenant system, so that He might establish a new covenant set purely upon His grace, power and mercy. The salvation of God is totally independent from the efforts and good intentions of man. Instead, it requires abandoning pride and self-sufficiency in total humility and dependant faith.

In this:

“A better hope is introduced, through which we draw near to God.” Hebrews 7:19

Paul himself recognizes that the perfection and fulfillment of his salvation is not accomplished here and now, but rather it is the goal that encourages him to push ahead and persevere. He does not claim perfection, but only his acceptance of the gracious gift of his Lord and Savior.

“Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me His own. Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”

“Only let us hold true to what we have attained.” Philippians 3:12-14,16

Paul's security is that he belongs to Christ, redeemed and purchased by His blood. Therefore he is confident in what lies ahead, and strives to inch closer to the perfection and restoration of righteousness. He urges believers to live lives worthy of what has been given freely, being confident in their salvation and living in joy and gratitude as those saved. Those in Christ are not to hold on to what they were saved from, but to press on towards what they were saved for.

Jesus encourages the disciples to trust Him, that there is something wonderful waiting for them. This is not the end, but there is so much more.

“If it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.” John 14:2

The author of Hebrews reiterates the importance of trusting in God. The job of the believer is to seek the will of God in their lives, and to simply have faith in God's faithfulness, that He will indeed be faithful to do what He has promised.

“For you have need of patience, so that after you have done the will of God you might receive the promise. For "yet a little while, and He who shall come will come and will not delay." Now, "the Just shall live by faith.” Hebrews 10:36-38 MKJV

The final passage I came upon truly hit it home for me, confirming the picture God was giving me through the house on the lake:

“For so says the LORD of hosts: Yet once, it is a little while, and I will shake the heavens and the earth... and the desire of all nations shall come; and I will fill this house with glory, says the LORD of hosts.”

“The glory of this latter house shall be greater than that of the former, says the LORD of hosts. And in this place I will give peace.” Haggai 2:6-7,9-10

The desire of all the nations, Christ our salvation, has come, and will also return for those who belong to Him. On that day our home will no longer be our temporary residence, faded and worn, but our new home will be a great and glorious resting place, set apart from all the chaos, pain and suffering of this broken world. It will be a permanent retreat in which we will rest and rejoice in our Lord and Savior, built to last into eternity. It will be a place of peace and beauty, where radiant light beams in from every angle, and all creation sings the praise of God. It is our inheritance, “obtained in Christ”. And the “glory of the latter house shall be greater than the former”, “for He has made all things new!” Until then, we hold fast to our faith in the promise of the glorious riches of God, which is “Christ in you, the hope of glory”(Col. 1:27).

“In Him we have redemption through Him blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of His grace, which He lavished upon us.. [and] according to His purpose, which He set forth in Christ as a plan for the fullness of time, to unite all things in Him, things in heaven and things on earth... In Him you also, when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation, and believed in Him, were sealed with the promised Holy Spirit, who is the guarantee of our inheritance until we acquire possession of it, to the praise of His glory.” Ephesians 1:7-10,13-14

As God showed me that house on the lake, I felt my spirit lifted in the knowledge that He was building something special for me. It was a work in progress, but the work already has begun. And while I wait here, with all my problems, weaknesses and struggles, He is creating something that will be absolutely perfect. When it is finished, I will be able to leave everything broken behind and move into the glory of what He has waiting for me. He is the Creator of all things good, and I felt Him reassured me, “Keep going, keep trusting My work in you. You're going to love it.”

2015-01-15-09-59-54.jpg

From my heart to yours.. 
Follow Me
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Subscribe for Updates!

Congrats! You’re subscribed.. and you're awesome!

bottom of page