top of page

Vitamix Recipe: A Healthy Alternative for Summer Frappuccinos!


So I have a caffeine addiction. Not an unusual admission, and truly, it is not necessarily a bad thing, except for the fact that getting my daily dose is simply an excuse to drink my dessert.

I love sweets. I did give them up for quite a few years, but since reintroducing them into my diet, my sugar cravings are back in full force. I don't plan on giving them up any time soon, but out of concern for the long term effects of a latte-a-day(or frappe, in this case), I have made it my mission to find delicious, yet healthy, alternatives to my favorite beverages.

Though summer is nearing its end(next week..), I thought that I would take the opportunity of warmer weather to share my favorite frappuccino recipe. After much trial and error, I discovered a combination that is not only sugarless, dairy-free and vegan, but also rich, sweet and creamy!

20140730_112118_edited_edited.jpg

The version I most frequently use is milk-free, and water-based, but in case you don't plan to stock some of the ingredients, don't stop reading! I have included alternatives for some of the less common ingredients at the end, I just really like the healthy benefits of using the unique ones. :)

(I can't vouch for the results of using a lower-speed blender, as the seeds many not blend all the way. If you do not have a high-powered blender, I would probably suggest sticking to the milk version and omit the hemp hearts.)

I start of with pouring about a 1/4 cup of purified water into my Vitamix, and then add the hemp hearts and chia seeds. Hemp is one of the easiest ways to make milk, as it requires no straining. Chia seeds are the most ingenious products of the modern health-food world, as they are the perfect thickener for so many things! I am not particularly inclined to use things like xanthan gum and other refined thickeners, so I was thrilled to discover the wonders of chia! Both chia seeds and hemp hearts are a high source of protein, fibre, omega 3s, anti-oxidants and many vitamins and minerals! Read more about hemp and chia.

20140917_103935_edited.jpg
20140917_104145_edited.jpg

I recommend allowing time to for the chia and hemp seeds to soak, as it helps give it a thicker and creamier consistency, but if you are in a rush, don't worry about it! I don't always do it, but if I can, I like to let them sit for 5-20 minutes while I go do something else.

20140827_145405_edited_edited.jpg
20140917_105431_edited.jpg

I like to use dates as a natural sweetener option, but I've found that on their own, they don't quite result in the sweetness I'm looking for. Because of this, I use a combination of dates and maple syrup in this recipe. I also find that the dates lend to a bit of a thicker consistency. (If you don't have dates, or don't care for them, you can use purely maple syrup.)

20140917_104511_edited.jpg

I prefer to use instant coffee for the sake of simplicity, and because the flavour is not as overpowering. Some may argue instant coffee is not entirely natural. I like to think that it is fairly natural, (right or not), though admittedly it is at the very least dehydrated, therefore considered processed. If you refuse to use instant coffee on principle, you may swap the water for espresso or brewed coffee, and omit it. (I suppose if you don't like coffee at all you could leave the coffee out entirely and just use milk or water)

20140917_104326_edited.jpg

The sea salt helps to balance out the bitterness of the coffee. I'll admit I have been told that I like sea salt more than the average person (I used to carry it around in my purse), so if the idea of adding salt makes you wary, you may reduce it slightly. I wouldn't omit it entirely, however, as even a small amount helps balance the flavors out considerably.

20140917_104819_edited.jpg

Add the cocoa powder, vanilla, a pinch of cinnamon, and that's everything!

(Minus ice.)

20140917_105032_edited.jpg

Hopefully after the chia seeds and hemp hearts have had a bit of time to soak, blend everything everything together but ice, starting low and increasing to the highest speed until it looks smooth and chocolatey!

20140917_110925_edited.jpg
20140917_110915_edited.jpg

Add the ice, and blend until smooth, again increasing speed from low to high. Make sure there are no ice chunks lefts, but DO NOT over-blend, or else the blades will heat up and your frappuccino will melt!

20140917_111052_edited.jpg
20140917_111236_edited_edited_edited.jpg

Pour into a tall glass, stick in a straw, and enjoy! To make it EVEN better, drizzle some of my Raw & Simple Chocolate Sauce on top to finish it off!

20140730_111951.jpg

Vitamix: Healthy & Homemade Mocha Frappuccino

(Dairy-free and Vegan-Friendly!)

1/3 cup purified water

1 tbsp hemp hearts

1/2 tsp chia seeds

1 tablespoon cocoa powder (you may need to more if you are using a lighter cocoa powder)

2 small dates(I use Deglet Noor) or 1 Medjool dates

1-3 tsp maple syrup

1 heaping tsp instant coffee

1 tsp vanilla

pinch sea salt

pinch cinnamon

1 cup ice cubes

1. Pour water into Vitamix, and add all ingredients except ice cubes. Allow to soak for between 5 and 10 minutes if time allows.

2. Blend until smooth and all ingredients are liquified. Add more sweetening if needed.

3. Add ice cubes, and blend, starting on low and increasing to the highest speed. Turn machine off as soon as the chunks are blended and consistency is smooth. Do not over-blend, or the heat from the blades will cause it to melt!

(To make a mocha-chip frappuccino, add 1 tsbp chocolate chips at the very end and pulse very briefly.)

4. Pour into a tall glass, and drizzle with Raw & Simple Chocolate Sauce!

Substitutions:

- You may substitute strongly brewed coffee or espresso for both the instant coffee and 1/3 cup water. If you are not adding hemp hearts, use 1/4 cup coffee and 1/4 cup milk of choice.

-To omit the dates, simply add an additional 2 tsp maple syrup.

Homemade Mocha Frappuccino -

Simplified and Milk-Based Version

(for the easiest, quickest version with standard ingredients!)

1/4-1/3 cup milk of choice

1 tbsp cocoa powder (you may need more if it is a lighter cocoa powder)

1 tbsp maple syrup

1 tsp vanilla

1 heaping tsp instant coffee

pinch sea salt

pinch cinammon

1/2 tsp chia seeds(optional)

1 cup ice

1. Add all ingredients except ice and blend until smooth.

2. Add ice cubes, and blend, starting on low and increasing to the highest speed. Turn machine off as soon as the chunks are blended and consistency is smooth. Do not over-blend, or the heat from the blades will cause it to melt!

(To make a mocha-chip frappuccino, add 1 tsbp chocolate chips at the very end and pulse very briefly.)

4. Pour into a tall glass, and drizzle with Raw & Simple Chocolate Sauce!

From my heart to yours.. 
Follow Me
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

Subscribe for Updates!

Congrats! You’re subscribed.. and you're awesome!

bottom of page